Richard Thompson 4CD Box Set Due June 30

Posted by Michael Mueller on March 4, 2009 at 10:12 AM

Richard ThompsonBritish guitarist-songwriter Richard Thompson has had an illustrious career, stretching back over 40 years. On June 30, Shout! Factory will release the career-spanning 4-CD box set, Walking On A Wire: Richard Thompson (1968-2009). Songs from every Richard Thompson album are represented in this collection, beginning with the trail-blazing folk-rock group Fairport Convention, of which he was a founding member as a teenager, to his duo albums with then-wife Linda Thompson, as well as his 20 plus years as a critically acclaimed solo artist. Thompson will tour the US and UK this spring and summer.

Early on in his career Thompson was singled out as a songwriter of distinction; as a guitarist, he was being compared by critics to more established guitar heroes such as Pete Townshend, Jeff Beck, and Jimmy Page. He reached a new level of critical and commercial success in the '80s and '90s during his Capitol Records period, during which he recorded what is perhaps his signature song, "1952 Vincent Black Lightning."

The songs chosen for Walking on a Wire were carefully assembled and aim to provide a real sense of Richard Thompson, as well as to celebrate the diversity of his music—rock 'n' roll with folk, jazz, rockabilly and the odd waltz thrown in—the scope of his songwriting, and the sheer virtuosity of his playing. Walking on a Wire impressively includes 71 tracks from albums released by 15 different labels, and includes a 60-page booklet with new notes by Patrick Humphries.


Send to Friend | Back to Blog Home


Add Comment