New Details on Highly Anticipated CHICKENFOOT Release

Posted by Michael Mueller on March 27, 2009 at 8:00 AM

As reported here earlier this month, Chickenfoot's self-titled debut album has been confirmed for a June 2009 release. Just this past week the quartet comprising Sammy Hagar, Joe Satriani, Michael Anthony, and Chad Smith posted two tracks—"Soap on a Rope" and "Down the Drain"—at their official web site, in the band's well-scripted slow rollout to build excitement among the fans. The news that they had pooled their inordinate talents to one collective whole quickly spread like wildfire across the internet and rock metal pages over the last year as each member slowly disclosed more and more details about the mystery project. 

It all started well over a year ago, with an innocent jam session. "I really wasn't looking to have a real band," says Hagar. "But the minute we started jamming it was obvious that this is something that needs to be heard."

"After just a few songs, it became stunningly obvious that we shared a musical agenda and an overall agenda," adds Satriani. "When I play with Chickenfoot, I find myself wanting to give them more all the time. I don't hold anything back. I think the rest of the guys feel the same way."

The self-titled debut, which was produced by Andy Johns (Led Zeppelin, Rolling Stones) and mixed by Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Metallica), is an 11-track hard rock album that clearly demonstrates the band is not lacking energy or enthusiasm in this project.  

"[These are] the kinds of songs I could never do on my own," says Satriani. "I needed a band like this to make those songs come alive." 

Here is a full track list for Chickenfoot:

"Avenida Revolution"
"Soap on a Rope"
"Sexy Little Thing"
"Oh Yeah"
"Runnin’ Out"
"Get It Up"
"Down the Drain"
"My Kinda Girl"
"Learning to Fall"
"Turnin’ Left"
"Future in the Past"

Send to Friend | Back to Blog Home