STEVIE RAY VAUGHAN's Couldn't Stand the Weather To Be Reissued

Posted by Michael Mueller on May 27, 2010 at 2:34 PM

Stevie Ray Vaughan guitar tabTo commemorate the 20th anniversary of Stevie Ray Vaughan's death, Legacy Recordings will reissue his 1984 release, Couldn't Stand the Weather, in a 2-CD package, on July 27. Disc 1 includes the original eight-song, 38-minute album plus another 11 studio outtakes from the original recording sessions in January 1984, three of which are previously unreleased. Disc 2 contains selections from Vaughan's previously unreleased August 17, 1984, live concert at The Spectrum, in Montreal, Canada.

The set comes with a 2,700 word essay written by one of the foremost authorities on Vaughan's guitar style, Andy Aledort. He writes, "Though a mere six months had passed between the release of Texas Flood and the start of the Couldn't Stand the Weather recording sessions, a great deal changed for the band, professionally and personally, in that short period. Couldn't Stand the Weather represented the first time the band had a recording budget, but with it came record company pressures that had been absent previously. In addition, as the pace of the band members' careers increased, so did the level of partying and drug use."

Stevie Ray Vaughan guitar tabs, video lessons, and jam tracks
Andy Aledort blues guitar video lessons

Couldn't Stand the WeatherPre-order Couldn't Stand the Weather: Legacy Edition now at

Complete tracklisting

Disc One
1. Scuttle Buttin'
2. Couldn't Stand The Weather
3. The Things (That) I Used To Do
4. Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)
5. Cold Shot
6. Tin Pan Alley (aka Roughest Place In Town)
7. Honey Bee
8. Stang's Swang
Bonus tracks
9. Empty Arms (A)
10. Come On (Pt. III) (B)
11. Look At Little Sister (B)
12. The Sky Is Falling (C)
13. Hide Away (B)
14. Give Me Back My Wig (B)
15. Boot Hill (C)
16. Wham! (A)
17. Close To You (A)
18. Little Wing (A)
19. Stang's Swang (alternate take) (C)

Key to bonus tracks
A - from the 1991 album The Sky Is Crying
B - from the 1999 expanded edition of Couldn't Stand The Weather
C - previously unreleased

Send to Friend | Back to Blog Home